2011 Legislative Rankings

The Oregon AFL-CIO’s top priority leading into the 2011 Legislative Session was job creation legislation. While only a few direct job creation bills were passed, many bills that will make it easier to bring good jobs to Oregon and strengthen our economy for the future were successful. Those bills, as well as bills to extend unemployment insurance, protect workers' rights, and address other important workplace and economic issues, were evaluated in the Oregon AFL-CIO’s 2011 Legislative Rankings. As well as key bills from the Oregon AFL-CIO's agenda, rankings include votes on select bills the AFL-CIO supported on behalf of affiliated unions and on bills championed by partner organizations that were important to union members.

Many bills that were atop the agenda for middle class families in Oregon did not make it out of committee during the 2011 Legislative Session. Many more bills were introduced that would have stripped workers of key collective bargaining rights, but did not have the votes to pass out of committee. The rankings recognize that in a session where very few bills made it to the floor for a final vote accessibility, being open to compromises, and willingness to take a strong stand are also important.

These rankings follow the September announcement of the Oregon AFL-CIO 2011 Legislator of the Year at our Convention. Legislator of the Year Representative Val Hoyle was one of the top scoring legislators in our rankings – and outside of legislators who chaired key committees was the only legislator in either chamber to score over 90%. She considered the effect of every bill on working people in her district, and was a true champion for Oregon’s middle class.

The Oregon AFL-CIO thanks the elected officials across Oregon who regularly stand up for their constituents and for the middle class, and we look forward to a productive year ahead.

Legislators are listed in ranked order with Medalists noted.



Gold Medalists
Lee Beyer
Richard Devlin
Suzanne Bonamici
Diane Rosenbaum

Silver Medalists
Chris Edwards
Rod Monroe
Ginny Burdick
Laurie Monnes Anderson
Chip Shields
Joanne Verger

Bronze Medalists
Mark Hass
Jackie Dingfelder
Floyd Prozanski
Peter Courtney
Alan Bates
Betsy Johnson

No Medal
Alan Olsen
Frank Morse
Bruce Starr
David Nelson
Chuck Thomsen
Brian Boquist
Doug Whitsett
Jackie Winters
Chris Telfer
Jason Atkinson
Fred Girod
Jeff Kruse
Larry George
Ted Ferrioli


Gold Medalists
Dave Hunt
Mike Schaufler
Val Hoyle
Margaret Doherty
Paul Holvey
Greg Matthews
Peter Buckley
Jeff Barker
Jean Cowan
Tina Kotek
Tobias Read
Chris Garrett
Terry Beyer
Brad Witt

Silver Medalists
Bob Jenson
Nancy Nathanson
Vicki Berger
Bill Garrard
Debbie Boone
Brian Clem
Michael Dembrow
Greg Smith

Bronze Medalists
Jules Bailey
Phil Barnhart
Lew Frederick
Sara Gelser
Arnie Roblan
Jefferson Smith
Betty Komp
Bill Kennemer
Mary Nolan
Vic Gilliam
Wayne Krieger
Carolyn Tomei
Gene Whisnant
Ben Cannon

No Medal

Patrick Sheehan
Katie Brewer
Andy Olson
Matt Wingard
Jason Conger
Bruce Hanna
Julie Parrish
Cliff Bentz
Kevin Cameron
John Huffman
Sherrie Sprenger
Mitch Greenlick
Sal Esquivel
Chris Harker
Shawn Lindsay
Jim Thompson
Matt Wand
Mike McLane
Jim Weidner
Tom Freeman
Mark Johnson
Dennis Richardson
Kim Thatcher
Wally Hicks

Follow Us!

Sign Up
Remember me